Session and Elders


Our congregation is governed by a “session” that includes six elected ruling elders from the congregation and is moderated by our pastor, who is a teaching elder. Ruling elders are elected to a two-year term on the session. The session of New Hanover Presbyterian is charged with guiding the congregation’s witness to the sovereign activity of the triune God in the world, so that the congregation is and becomes a community of faith, hope, love, and witness (Book of Order G-3.02).

Contact the Session:

The Session of New Hanover Presbyterian

Teaching Elder & Moderator of Session: Rev. Dr. Robert Johnson

Ruling Elders – Class of 2017
Lee Blackburn, John Bowen, and Ron Garstka

Ruling Elders – Class of 2018
Larry Diebold, Christy Presseau, Margaret Elliott